skip navigation

2021 Ms. Lacrosse and Jake Anderson Ms. Goalie award finalists announced

By SportsEngine staff, 07/16/21, 1:00PM CDT


This year's list includes two players from state champion Prior Lake, the state's leading goal scorer and two goalies whose victory totals were among the best in Minnesota this season.

Photo by SportsEngine

Photo by SportsEngine

A list of finalists for the 2021 Ms. Lacrosse and Jake Anderson Ms. Goaltender awards has been announced by the Minnesota All Sports Alliance (MASA). 

The Ms. Lacrosse award is given to the "most outstanding senior lacrosse player in the state," while the Jake Anderson Ms. Goaltender award is given to the best senior goaltender in the state. The voting panel for the awards includes high school and college coaches, scouts, referees, members of the media and other lacrosse enthusiasts, according to the MASA website

Seven student-athletes were named finalists for the Ms. Lacrosse award and two were finalists for the Ms. Goaltender award. The award winners will be announced later this summer.

Find a complete list of the finalists and make your pick in the polls below.

Ms. Lacrosse finalists

Payton Bloedow, Prior Lake: Bloedow was fourth in the state with 78 goals and added 19 assists. The midfielder scored four goals in the Lakers' 15-7 state championship victory over Lakeville South. 

Brooke Lee, Blake: Lee had a team-best 26 forced turnovers and anchored a Bears defense that only allowed 8.47 goals per game. She also had 17 ground balls and controlled 68 draws. 

Meghan McGowan, Prior Lake: McGowan helped power a stingy Lakers defense that allowed only 6.32 goals per game. She finished the season with 54 ground balls, and contributed four goals and three assists. 

Grace Peterson, Mound Westonka: Peterson was the state's ninth leading goal scorer with 72. The midfielder also finished the season with 17 assists. 

Haley Reeck, Edina: Reeck finished fifth in the state in scoring with 77 goals, had 17 assists and helped Edina to a Lake Conference title. The midfielder was also named the Star Tribune's 2021 Metro Player of the Year.

Taiva Reinertson, Apple Valley/Burnsville: The midfielder scored 69 goals and had 16 assists, leading Apple Valley/Burnsville to a 9-5 record. 

Maddy Seifert, Hutchinson: Seifert led the state with 105 goals this season. The midfielder also tallied 16 assists while helping Hutchinson win its fifth consecutive Wright County Conference title. 

Jake Anderson Ms. Goaltender finalists

Kaylyn Cater, Chanhassen: Cater held a .532 save percentage and allowed 6.55 goals per game in the Storm's Metro West Conference title-winning season. The Storm were 13-3 with Cater in net. 

Brigit Goetsch, Maple Grove: Goetsch had a 14-2 overall record for the Crimson, holding a .609 save percentage while allowing only 4.76 goals per game. She helped the Crimson win a Northwest Suburban Conference title and reach the state tournament. 

Stats listed are a combination of regular and postseason totals. The Ms. Lacrosse and Ms. Goaltender awards are based off regular season performances. 

The MN Hub polls are only for entertainment purposes. You can vote in the poll once per day.

Lax Hub Headlines