skip navigation

Sutton named Player of Year

By MN Lax Hub staff, 06/03/13, 12:30PM CDT


Blake junior Lydia Sutton tops list of coaches' association all-state selections

Junior midfielder Lydia Sutton, the top scorer for No. 2-ranked Blake, has been named the state's Player of the Year by the Minnesota Girls' Lacrosse Coaches Association.

Sutton, who has 46 goals and 23 assists in 15 games, has helped power the three-time defending state champion Bears to a 12-3 record and berth in the Section 6 championship game against Benilde-St. Margaret's.

Ana Bowlsby of Benilde-St. Margaret's was named Coach of the Year. The Red Knights, making their first section final appearance, are 14-1 and ranked No. 9 in the last state poll.

No. 4-ranked Stillwater led all teams with six selections on the all-state list. Blake and No. 1 Eden Prairie each had five players named to the all-state team.


2013 Coaches' Association All-State Selections

Name School Position Grade
Bailey Forcier Benilde-St. Margaret's Forward 12
Madii Maas Burnsville Forward 12
Abbie Ness Lakeville South Forward 12
Abby Quinell Lakeville South Forward 12
Dana Almquist Stillwater Forward 12
Annie Lyman Blake Forward 9
Lyndee Boyce White Bear Lake Forward 12
Bailey Aasen Park (Cottage Grove) Forward 10
Jordan Chancellor Blake Forward 10
Kate Sheely Stillwater Forward 11
Hanna Tjossem Holy Angels Midfield 11
Mari Verbeten Robinsdale Armstrong Midfield 11
Lydia Sutton Blake Midfield 11
Anne Slusser Blake Midfield 11
Sabrina Tattersfield Benilde-St. Margaret's Midfield 10
Caitlyn Russell Cretin-Derham Hall Midfield 12
Leah Lawler Cretin-Derham Hall Midfield 11
Emma Claire Fontenot Eden Prairie Midfield 12
Anna Johnson Eden Prairie Midfield 11
Annie Thul Eden Prairie Midfield 12
Hannah Koloski Lakeville North Midfield 12
Paige Gardiner Minnetonka Midfield 12
Amber Beauvais Prior Lake Midfield 11
Emma Wiessner Stillwater Midfield 12
Katie Casto Stillwater Midfield 12
Madeline Rodriguez Edina Midfield 12
Tori Nelson Holy Family Catholic Midfield 12
Ali Ridge Minnetonka Midfield 11
Rachael Welzin Farmington Midfield 11
Logan Dobratz Lakeville North Midfield 12
Remi Larson Stillwater Midfield 10
Sammi Dejoy Coon Rapids Midfield 12
Maddie Johnson Rosemount Midfield 12
Holly Korn Minnetonka Midfield 11
Sophie Buelow Chaska/Chanhassen Midfield 11
Katie Larson Apple Valley Midfield 11
Lauren Kelly Blake Defense 11
Paige Lawlor Benilde-St. Margaret's Defense 12
Lexi Halvorson Lakeville South Defense 12
Megan Skelly Lakeville North Defense 12
Katie Fuhs Eden Prairie Defense 11
Mackenzie Johnson Eden Prairie Goaltender 12
Taylor Tvedt Eastview Goaltender 12
Marie Bonine Stillwater Goaltender 12
Hannah Gilbert Prior Lake Goaltender 12

Player of the Year: Lydia Sutton, Blake
Coach of the Year: Ana Bowlsby, Benilde-St. Margaret's
Assistant Coach of the Year: Brian Gould, Stillwater

Related Stories