skip navigation

Woodring, Fontenot win top awards

By MN Lax Hub staff, 06/10/13, 11:45PM CDT


Eden Prairie's Jake Woodring, Emma Claire Fontenot named Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse

Eden Prairie’s Jake Woodring was named Mr. Lacrosse and Emma Claire Fontenot, also of Eden Prairie, was named Ms. Lacrosse on Sunday, June 9, by the Minnesota Minute Men.

The other major award winners Sunday were Mr. and Ms. Goaltender, which went to Austin Dover of Edina and McKenzie Johnson of Eden Prairie.

Woodring, a midfielder who has committed to play at Denver, scored 29 goals and added seven assists in 13 regular season games as the No. 1-ranked Eagles went unbeaten.

Fontenot, a midfielder who has committed to play at Notre Dame, led the No. 1-ranked Eagles with 37 goals and 24 assists in 13 regular season games.

The awards are given to the two outstanding senior high school lacrosse players and two outstanding senior goaltenders in Minnesota and are selected by a panel of Minnesota lacrosse community members. 

The other Mr. Lacrosse finalists were Brooks Armitage (Eden Prairie), Ryan McNamara (Eastview), Mackenzie Nadeau (Blaine), Nick Timmons (White Bear Lake), David Corazalla (Maple Grove) and Ryan McNeil (Champlin Park).
The other finalists for Ms. Lacrosse were Madeline Rodriguez (Edina), Bailey Forcier (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Hannah Koloski (Lakeville North), Abbie Ness (Lakeville South), Paige Gardiner (Minnetonka) and Dana Almquist (Stillwater).

Brenden Nadeau of Blaine and Taylor Tvedt of Eastview were the other finalists for the Mr. and Ms. Goaltender awards.

Past Winners

Award Year Name School
Mr. Lacrosse 2013 Jake Woodring Eden Prairie
Mr. Goalie 2013 Austin Dover Edina
Mr. Lacrosse 2012 Jake Heppner Eastview
Mr. Goalie 2012 Thomas Gilligan Benilde-St. Margaret's
Mr. Lacrosse 2011 George Ordway Blake
Mr. Goalie 2011 Grant Dressen Blake
Mr. Lacrosse 2010 Bailey Dodds Benilde-St. Margaret's
Mr. Goalie 2010 Lowell Fluke Blake
Ms. Lacrosse 2013 Emma Claire Fontenot Eden Prairie
Ms. Goalie 2013 McKenzie Johnson Eden Prairie
Ms. Lacrosse 2012 Christine Easton Eden Prairie
Ms. Goalie 2012 Bailey Dunning Blake
Ms. Lacrosse 2011 Hillary Duda Minnetonka
Ms. Goalie 2011 Brooke Jones Edina

Related Stories