skip navigation

Lakeville North's Luke Anderson named Mr. Lacrosse

By Peter Odney, Sport Ngin, 07/03/16, 11:15AM CDT


Woodbury's Chris Rolfing earned Jake Anderson Award as the state's top senior goalie.

Lakeville North midfielder Luke Anderson was named Minnesota's 2016 Mr. Lacrosse. Photo by Cheryl Myers

Luke Anderson

Luke Anderson was named Minnesota's 2016 Mr. Lacrosse one day after leading Lakeville North to its best finish in program history.

The award is given to the state's most outstanding high school senior player and is selected by a panel of scouts/coaches and select members from Minnesota's lacrosse community. The Minnesota Minute Men presented Anderson the honor at a banquet in St. Louis Park on June 19.

Anderson finished the year with 43 goals and 71 points while helping the Panthers post a 16-3 record and reach the state title game, where Lakeville North lost to Prior Lake 12-5.

The Marquette commit also guided Lakeville North to the South Suburban Conference and Section 1 titles this season.

A midfielder who completed his fifth year on the Panthers' varsity roster, Anderson was a US Lacrosse national high school first team All-American and a Minnesota coaches association All-State selection this season. He was also named to the Star Tribune boys' lacrosse All-Metro team.

The other Mr. Lacrosse finalists were Ryan Graff (Bloomington Jefferson), Matt Schwartz (Mahtomedi), Luke VanOverbeke (Rosemount), Trey Lervick (Woodbury), Amar Batra (Wayzata) and John Marple (Edina).

Chris Rolfing

Woodbury's Chris Rolfing took home the Jake Anderson Award, given to the state's top senior goalie. He posted a 4.66 goals-against average and led the Royals to an undefeated regular season record and the Suburban East Conference championship. Woodbury finished 14-1 after being upset by Eagan 11-6 in the Section 3 semifinals.

Also a Marquette commit, Rolfing was named to the Star Tribune All-Metro team and earned all-state second-team honors this year. 

Edina's Patrick Jackson was also a finalist for the award.

Most Popular